Extended Deadline Options For The RoSPA Awards 2012

Organisations keen to participate in the RoSPA Awards 2012 but fearing they have missed their opportunity can rest assured because there are extended deadlines for achievement awards that will be presented at the Scotland ceremony or sent out by post.

Entrants wishing to receive their achievement award certificates at the ceremony in Glasgow on September 20 or through the post must register online - at www.rospa.com/awards/ - by March 23. Following registration, these organisations will then have until June 15 to submit their full entries on RoSPA Awards USB keys.

Previous winners meeting these extended deadlines will not lose their RoSPA Awards history, meaning there will be no adverse effect on their eligibility for awards which recognise consecutive years’ success.

Dating back to 1956, the RoSPA Occupational Health and Safety Awards scheme is the largest and longest-running programme of its type in the UK. It recognises commitment to accident and ill health prevention and is open to businesses and organisations of all types and sizes from across the UK and overseas.

The majority of awards are non-competitive achievement awards and recognise entrants’ overarching health and safety management systems, including important practices such as strong leadership and workforce involvement. Competitive sector awards are presented to the top-performing organisations in around 20 different industries. There are also a variety of specialist awards which recognise excellence in specific areas.

David Rawlins, awards manager at the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA), said: “We are delighted to announce these extended deadlines for organisations wishing to receive their prestigious RoSPA award at our Glasgow ceremony in September or through the post. The RoSPA Awards ceremony in Glasgow has been a firm fixture on the health and safety calendar for organisations from Scotland and the north of England for 14 years, but it is also open to winners from across the UK and, indeed, the world. The daytime presentation gives winning organisations the opportunity to bring as many guests as they wish to celebrate their success; there then follows a prestigious RoSPA Awards Gala Dinner, rightly regarded as the ultimate celebration of health and safety management excellence.”

Completed submissions for sector awards and specialist awards, as well as for achievement awards to be presented at ceremonies in Birmingham from May 15-17, must be received by RoSPA tomorrow (February 1) at the latest. 

The headline sponsor for the RoSPA Awards is once again NEBOSH (the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health). Sponsors of specialist trophies are: The Workforce Involvement in Safety and Health Trophy - Westinghouse Springfields Fuels Ltd; The International Dilmun Environmental Award - Gulf Petrochemicals Industry Company of Bahrain; The Managing Occupational Road Risk Trophy - Allianz Insurance plc; The SME Assistance Trophy - BHSF; and, The Astor Trophy (occupational health) - airsweb.

For more information, visit www.rospa.com/awards/, call 0121 248 2090 or email awards@rospa.com.

Sponsored links

Stannah Lifts

Passenger Lifts
6-16 persons
Maxilift & Piccolo Range


Small Washroom?
Compact Hand Hygiene


Data Rental Solution
Direct Marketing
Data Rental Specialists


Flexible Electric Heating
Panel Heaters

OCS Group

One Complete Solution
Cleaning, Catering
and Integrated Services